A timely return to soil at UoM

It was world soil day yesterday, which would have been a great time to post about my new job back in the Soil and Ecosystem Ecology Lab at the University of Manchester – but after a long day full of soil sieving, I was knackered!

I’m really happy to be back in the lab, because I enjoy the work and because they’re a lovely group of people to work with. My last role was as a laboratory technician, so I was almost exclusively found in the lab (apart from one weekend of fieldwork). This time I am a research technician, so on top of lab work, I get to be more involved in all aspects of the project(s), doing things like data manipulation, basic analyses and working in the greenhouse – I even get my own desk! I’m working for Franciska De Vries and Angela Straathof, on a few BBSRC funded projects under the broad umbrella of understanding root exudates and their reaction to drought.

Leave a Reply

