Summer Lab Work

Even with the disappointment of Canada, I’ve managed to have a good summer so far.

I’ve been working as a laboratory technician for Richard Bardgett’s research group at the University of Manchester, which has been a joy. It was great to use those skills again, and to be doing work I know will directly contribute to the advancement of science. This short contract was to assist a project investigating the possible effects of climate change on soil. I spent my time in the lab conducting soil extractions, root washing, filtering, and measuring soil moisture. I also helped with some fieldwork, collecting gas, soil and biomass samples.

Leave a Reply

