The Mammal Society Student Conference

I recently attended the Mammal Society student conference in Yarnfield. I had booked a ticket last year, but started working as an Ecologist for Thomson down South a few weeks before, so I wasn’t able to attend. This year I was happy to find the conference was being held nearby.

As you’d expect, the day involved some very interesting talks, and workshops on post-doc careers and modelling mammal distribution. It also provided opportunity for networking, where I met some lovely and very intelligent people.

For me, not only the content of the talks was fascinating, but also the format and delivery of the presentations. As a masters student and graduate ecologist, I didn’t have the opportunity to deliver many presentations to large groups, so I am keen to pick up tips anywhere I can. I find seeing what to do (and what not to do) in practice much more beneficial with my learning style.

 

Leave a Reply

